blog for Australian artist and musician Matt Warren

Recent activities – November 26, 2015

When you decide your priorities, you can set yourself free. I’m an artist, this is what I do, this is what I contribute to the world. But it’s not all that I do, I’m a partner, I’m a father and in my own very small way, I’m an activist. The balance between all these facets can be balanced, but it’s a struggle sometime. So much time can be spent worry about what others will think, what can go wrong, rather than what can go right. It may in fact stop you doing anything at all and then worrying about not getting anything done…well you get the picture. I do not take my ‘lot in life’ for granted, nor do I wish this to come across as complaining. When you decide what you do is important to you, you need to figure out how it best can be done and this may well be a life-long, ongoing process. Making adjustments along the way.
Shout your mantra from the rooftops.
There’s something important to be said.

It’s been a long time between teetotaling drinks, it was May 30 since last time I posted about my activities. Here’s an update of what I’ve done and what’s to come.

Art practice:
envlopefirstpage
Envelop(e)
My third major curatorial project of which I’m particularly proud, exhibited the following amazing artists:
Julian Day, Mick Harris/Lull, Jason James, Christina Kubisch and Elizabeth Veldon. It was an honour to curate them into this show that was presented at the ever-wonderful Contemporary Art Tasmania Gallery and was included in the program of Dark Mofo festival.
CATenvelope1
CATenvelope2
CATenvelope3Images: Jan Dallas.

Here are a collection of relevant links to info, reviews and related podcasts.

“Envelop(e)” – exhibition slideshow with in situ sound. from Matt Warren on Vimeo.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-06-04/tasmanian-arts-community-launches-contemporary-podcast/6522086
http://www.realtimearts.net/article/128/12029
https://soundcloud.com/whatareyoulookingat-3/episode-2-sound-art

The Unconscious Collective: As some of you would know, since ‘Motel Dreaming’ at last year’s Dark Mofo festival, I’ve worked as part of The Unconscious Collective and have a number of current projects underway (and some future ones) in collaboration with them.

Sound/video for Wild At Heart
The Unconscious Collective were invited to curate a winter road trip, art event and wilderness sleepover experience, presented by Cradle Mountain Hotel and Dark Mofo in June 2015. As well as some smaller video elements, I did some extensive sound design throughout the project. This is an 8 minute walk-through in approximate chronology of the sound design I composed and created for the event called Wild At Heart.

 

Also with The Unconscious Collective: I’ve been working on an R&D project called Hypnapod. “HYPNAPOD is a live audio-visual artwork generated by the collective biorhythms of sleeping audience members.
Audience members are invited to doze in self-contained cocoon-like pods, connected via Wifi, which monitor their biorhythms to produce a resonant dream-like soundscape.”
It’s had a couple of experimental iterations so far. We are looking at further experiments in the future with a major iteration in the new year to be announced.
More info: http://www.hypnapod.com/

Forest Of Dreams. On 4 January 2013, a bushfire swept through the coastal town of Dunalley, destroying many houses and public buildings, including the local primary school. In 2014, David Patman, Michelle Boyde, Matt Warren and Gerhard Mausz were commissioned to undertake a public artwork to be installed in the new Dunalley Primary School.
We will create a ‘Forest of Dreams’: a collection of tree-like sculptures located in front of the main school building, and network of concealed speakers located in the school grounds, which provide a subtle and engaging soundscape of stories and dreams from Dunalley children and the local community. This due to be completed in late 2015 in time for term 1 2016. Here is some images of me collecting material:
MattDunalley1
MattDunalley2
Images: David Patman.
More info here: http://www.unconsciouscollective.org/forest-of-dreams/

As far as my own personal art practice goes, the next major thing is a planned artist residency in Santiago and Valdivia, Chile. It is part of an overall project called ‘Black Matter’ as curated and overseen by Francisca Moenne and I am one of three Tasmanian artists due to travel. I’m looking at going over in early March and returning early May. I have a number of aesthetic experiments I intend to undertake and I hope to explore notions of place, memory, sonic histories and hauntology. It will be supported in-kind by MAC (Museo de Arte Contemporaneo) and Galeria Metropolitana and financially by Arts Tasmania and (hopefully) Tas Regional Arts.

Some video work, sketches, in progress and tying up some loose ends.

Sound and Music:
Solo stuff –
The Non-Compliant Airmen; released the debut album of protest noise/power electronics known as “The 1st” on August 22, in the form of download and a very limited edition (of 9 numbered copies) of hand CD-Rs with individual, handcrafted collage covers. This was launched at a Sound Klub gig. Not the most successful set, but it was what it was. The album is available from:
https://thenon-compliantairmen.bandcamp.com
Here is a clip for the track “When The Boat Is Turned Back, Make Sure You Are On It”

This leads me to the following as it’s an interesting time. After a number of comments bringing to focus the number of solo projects I have (or have had in the past) under a number of names other than my own, I’ve been wondering something. Although the comments have not been in any way negative, they have bought up some personal questions. After some consideration, I’m thinking about laying to rest the monikers such as mumble(speak), The Non-Compliant Airmen, Broken Tiny…time to grow up? Be myself? I’ve had some conceptual and aesthetic reasons to give these solo recordings and performances their own names rather than my own, but why not just accept they are all part of my own creative makeup? You’ll likely see future releases that may previously have been aesthetically related to another name, simply be under my own. Nothing definitive, I suppose, maybe I’m just thinking out loud.

Following on from our collaborative performance at Sound Klub 13, Pip Stafford and I performed together again, this time at Nancy Mauro-Flude’s event: ‘Core Litany: gnostic computing transformation furnaces, calcite field divination & crystallography.’ – Plimsoll Gallery, Hobart on Aug 28, 2015. We are talking about doing some kind of release of a studio recording. Stay tuned.
PipMatt_atNancysClosing

PipMatt_atNancysClosingIIImages by Nick Smithies.

TRIAD – the trio with Scot Cotterell and Tom Hall is still on hiatus, but there is some vague talk of future work together. In the meantime I’ve put our 2009 album ‘Skullscratch’ up on my archive page
a0151697980_16
http://dustanddata.bandcamp.com/album/skullscratch

 

Machines Of Indeterminate Origin –  as stated last post, M010 released a single ‘Meat Dog’/’Calculator’ with a launch gig and to date this has been the last thing we’ve done, publicly at least. We’ve continued to workshed, compose and plan. As I write this we are in pre-production mode and have started a studio diary for the recording process. No firm dates for the release as yet, but likely to be early in the new year. Here are the diary entries and for those interested keep an eye out for updates on the youtube page:

The Lucky Dips
In my time as a practicing musician, I can’t recall a time when I’ve actually JOINED a band. I’ve often started a project or formed something with other people. Chatting to Adam one day recently in his shop we got to talking about his band The Lucky Dips who I’d seen live a number of time and even shared some bills with. Discussion turned to current status and talk of an interest in expanding the sound to incorporate more ‘space rock’ kind of jams and looking at incorporating a keyboard. I offered my services. A couple weeks later we all jammed and it seemed to work. So I ‘joined’ my first band. I kind of double as a kind of artificial bassist and droney atmospherics maker. I have my first gig with them on Saturday at the Brisbane Hotel opening for
Sparkspitter, Milkk and Spiral Kites. Here’s the Facebook event:
http://www.facebook.com/events/1645324179069938/

And here’s the Lucky Dips Facebook page:
http://www.facebook.com/Lucky-Dips-383218440389

Wish me luck!
Thanks for your attention, be good to each other.

Leave a Reply

