blog for Australian artist and musician Matt Warren

The Happiest Pig – December 31, 2011

And so it goes, go round again, but now and then we wonder who the real men are.
Some light filtered and flickered onto the walls. Some lovely noise made by myself and with friends.
Those near and and very dear have fed me with food and smiles and given me breath when I’ve dipped under the surface.
There is something important to be said.  

Well to be frank, I’ve had better years.
But to take on board the philosophy from one of my son’s books ‘The Happiest Pig’, trying to find the best in everyone and everything. So rather than saying I’ll be glad to see the end of 2011, let just say I’ll be happy to see the beginning of 2012.

There were of course some bright moments, they were with my nearest and dearest. And some great opportunities as well. I exhibited 5 times this year including 1, 2 solos. M010 recorded an EP, did a launch gig and appeared on a couple of compilations and played a bunch of gigs. Untermorast did a few gigs including performing at the Now now in Sydney.
My solo drone project mumble(speak) did a few gigs and released some recordings including a cover and a Yuletide track!. I even performed noisy beats as Broken Tiny at the final Red Wall Gallery opening – having not performed that project in that way since Glitchfest in 2009.

Was pretty busy, I like to be busy. I turned 40 and I like the fact that I reached that milestone. But situations can conspire to take a toll on your mind, body and spirit. I should have found the off-switch, or at least utilised the ‘standby’. A fear of missing something? Worrying about one’s own abilities? Un-realistic self expectations?

When you fill all the spaces, you can’t see because it’s too dark. You can step off the ride for a little while and get back on later. You may have to find your place again, but there is a way.

I’ve got my own new years resolution, it seems I make one every day. You don’t need to know, I’m sure you’ve got your own. But I am looking forward to leaving space for things to emerge rather than filling up spaces with things pre-emerged.

Coming up in 2012 (with glorious spaces in-between)

Writing an abstract text piece for Darren Cook and Laura Hindmarsh‘s Long Gallery exhibition Closure Loops in January.

Whitepinkblack Noise at Sawtooth, Launceston in June. This is a work from a couple of years back that was only shown in a preliminary version and then as part of my PhD submission and I’m quite proud of it. Glad to be able to give it another airing.

In A Silent Way at CAST. As mentioned last blog, I was chosen to be mentored as a curator for CAST and am currently putting together a sound show for late July. Here’s hoping I can pull this off.

M010 recording full length album scheduled for a vinyl release, already in progress.

mumble(speak) projects in various states of progress:
– a collaboration with Concrete/Field
– a ‘concept’ EP for download on Terranean Records
– and eventually a new full length.

Untermorast will appear on the DF Arte/INFLIGHT collaborative compilation CD and at the launch and possibly will release something else.

But that’s all to come. And there’s no need to worry, there will be time to made to breath and to be with the ones I love who support me and make me smile.
Best to all for the coming year. Take care of each other.

3 responses

  1. I liked what you said about leaving spaces, to breathe and to see. Especially this past year, I have felt that I’m not doing enough. It’s good to remind yourself of the growth that happens quietly as well.

    Wishing you all the best for 2012! x

    December 31, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    • Thanks Owlissa! I hadn’t read your blog before and just went and checked it out after you made this comment. Wonderfully open and honest. Will keep an eye on it. Best to you and family in 2012.

      January 1, 2012 at 8:15 am

  2. Thanks, Matt, and thankyou for reading it. I’ll be keeping an eye on yours too. Happy New Year. x

    January 1, 2012 at 9:34 am

Leave a Reply

